Animals Australia Unleashed
Change the World Who Cares? Videos Take Action! The Animals Community Forum Shop Blog Display
1 2 3
Your E-Mail: O Password:
Login Help     |     Join for Free!     |     Hide This

Post a Reply

How to become vegetarian when husband doesn't want to

1 - 10 of 11 posts   1 | 2  

Ruth Ruth WA Posts: 7
1 24 Jul 2010
Hello, I'm a newbie and this is my first post! I'm hoping to hear some experiences and hopefully advice on becoming vegetarian. I have recently had my 'light bulb' moment and now am fairly certain I want to give up meat. I hope to make the change slowly, because changing habits formed over almost 30 years is not easy!

The challenge for me is that my husband doesn't want to give up meat, and I also have to make a decision about how to feed my daughter (she is almost 18 months old). As the person who does the food shopping and most of the cooking, I don't feel excited about the prospect of making three different meals every night. Two is enough!

Any advice would be appreciated  happy
ReplyQuote

The Sair Scare The Sair Scare WA Posts: 2315
2 24 Jul 2010
Heyyy.
Welcome! happy My name's Sarah.
Congrats on wanting to go veg.
Perhaps talk to your husband about how important this change is for you? At the end of the day, it's your choice, and if you don't want to do a great deal more cooking- eat the same meals, but dish yours up first, then add the meat for your man. tongue Something like that.

Personally, IF I were ever to have kids some time in the DISTANT, INCONCEIVABLE future, I would feed them as vegetarian/vegans, and then when they're old enough to make their choice, sit them down and ask them whether they want to eat meat or not.

^.^ Sorry. Hopefully someone else can offer better advice than a cranky teenage girl who spent the day as a third wheel.
ReplyQuote

Compostkitty Compostkitty NSW Posts: 780
3 24 Jul 2010
Ruth said: