Animals Australia Unleashed
Change the World Who Cares? Videos Take Action! The Animals Community Forum Shop Blog Display
1 2 3
Your E-Mail: O Password:
Login Help     |     Join for Free!     |     Hide This

Post a Reply

work conflict

1 - 10 of 14 posts   1 | 2  

gloomyangel gloomyangel WA Posts: 20
1 7 Oct 2010
hmmm, this is my first time posting a topic =D i wasnt sure which section to post this, hope its right spot

anyway, I'm slowly trying to do a transition from Vegetarian to Vegan. I've already cut out egg, milk and honey. But, unfortunately this is a conflict of interest with where i work. I work casual at Boost Juice Bars and they have frozen yoghurt, wraps, banana bread, MILK, protein supplements, honey etc. I have to handle with most of these every-time I work, i mean is it contradicting that i am serving these?  i feel like I am helping and supporting consumers buying these animal by-products. I also feel uncomfortable when scooping the yoghurt and pouring milk.

So now i am considering quitting but I want to find another job first but it's hard getting employed these days, and i also feel bad because summer is coming and the boss really needs my help.
Are there any positions i can apply where i can help out with animals or humanity? without special specific qualifications needed.

oh yeah by the way, is chewing gum and energy drinks Vegan friendly? ><
ReplyQuote

JaimieCS JaimieCS VIC Posts: 363
2 7 Oct 2010
Some are, some aren't, check the ingredients and look up the additives.

Don't quit your job, making yourself unemployed isn't helping anyone. By all means look for more eco-friendly work but don't quit Boost until you find it.
ReplyQuote

saRAWRxx saRAWRxx WA Posts: 17
3 8 Oct 2010
Don't quit your job right away because, like you said, it's hard to get others.
Right now is a good time to apply though. Everywhere is looking for Christmas people, then you just make a good impression over Christmas (: