Animals Australia Unleashed
Change the World Who Cares? Videos Take Action! The Animals Community Forum Shop Blog Display
1 2 3
Your E-Mail: O Password:
Login Help     |     Join for Free!     |     Hide This

Post a Reply

Online resource for my Psychology course- ANIMAL RIGHTS TERRORISTS!

Trying to brainwash us against being anti-vivsection?

1 - 7 of 7 posts

Aimee Aimee VIC Posts: 957
1 12 Aug 2011
So I'm studying Psychology at uni and our textbooks come with an access code so we can use Pearson online resources to assist in our learning the contents of the text book.
First I chose to do a multiple choice quiz on Chapter 1, then after that I saw another option called 'Media Assignments' and one was called
"Animal Rights Terrorists"

What you are supposed to do is watch a video than answer 2 multiple choice questions.

The video talked about a case at Oregon University Primate Research Centre where 'animal rights terrorists' were sending razorblades to vivisectors with notes allegedly saying that if they don't stop their experimentation on monkeys, they will get much worse. It shows a website (possibly ALF related?) with a list of all names and addresses of vivisectors.
A senior scientist then labels the researchers 'heroes' for continuing their research in the face of these threats- calling their work legal and ethical.

Then the 2 questions are

Question 1.
Mailing razor blades to scientists is an effective way to voice one's concern over the rights of animal research participants.

- Agree
         - Neutral
         - Disagree

Question 2.
Which of the following statements is LEAST likely to be offered by an animal research supporter?

- Our compassion for animals is based on their perceived similarity to humans (Plous,  1993).
         - Research on animals would not be done unless it was very important to society.
         - Only a small proportion of psychological studies actually use animal participants.