Animals Australia Unleashed
Change the World Who Cares? Videos Take Action! The Animals Community Forum Shop Blog Display
1 2 3
Your E-Mail: O Password:
Login Help     |     Join for Free!     |     Hide This

Post a Reply

How can I save ex-battery hens?

1 - 10 of 12 posts   1 | 2  

volksymel volksymel VIC Posts: 2
1 9 Sep 2011
Hi there, i'm very new to chickens but before I go getting any from the poultry farm I thought if I could at least save a couple of ex battery hens that would be a start.  Does anyone know where I get get any in melbourne?  Any info would be greatly appreciated.  Many thanks, Mel
ReplyQuote

Val Val NSW Posts: 339
2 9 Sep 2011
I really wish I knew I've been wanting to find this out as well...

Sorry wish I could help sad
ReplyQuote

Clud Clud VIC Posts: 1559
3 10 Sep 2011
In another post one of the members, wild child2 said she is brining some to Melbourne to be rescued: http://www.unleashed.org.au/community/forum/topic.php?t=2399
ReplyQuote

AubergineBean AubergineBean SA Posts: 6
4 23 Sep 2011
We took on 4 ex battery hens a few years ago via an email request (see story & pic link below).  I suggest you get in touch with Animal Lib in your state to find out how you can give some of these poor hens a beautiful new life. Wonderful thing to do!

http://www.withcompassion.com.au/exbatteryhenstory.htm
ReplyQuote

wynterwolfe wynterwolfe SA Posts: 27
5 3 Oct 2011
That's awesome! So many people overlook birds because they aren't 'cute and fluffy' like cats and dogs (well, I think they're cute but most people don't!)

I just wanted to let you know I think it's wonderful of you to do that happy
ReplyQuote

clairef clairef QLD Posts: 2
6 12 Dec 2011