Animals Australia Unleashed
Change the World Who Cares? Videos Take Action! The Animals Community Forum Shop Blog Display
1 2 3
Your E-Mail: O Password:
Login Help     |     Join for Free!     |     Hide This

Post a Reply

Working in the Poultry Industry

moral dilemma

1 - 10 of 15 posts   1 | 2  

Lars Lars NSW Posts: 825
1 13 Apr 2012
ok, so i think i can guess the outcome of this but I wanted to get your thoughts on this anyway

So, Im a student, and i havent worked in months, I need a job, and I answered an ad for an "egg collector/farm hand" not far from where i live. I have no clue whether or not it's free-range, barn laid whatever.

I'm vegan, and don't eat eggs myself, would it be absolutely horrible if i took the job TEMPORARILY until i find something better?

Hypothetically if i did take the job I wouldn't take it if it were caged eggs, and if it were barn I would see what kind of conditions and then make a judgement call.

My pro's are that the money i make there would never get back to them, as i do not buy animal related products

But really, I don't think i'll end up going through with it, I feel bad just thinking about it

thoughts?
ReplyQuote

4_da_animals1 4_da_animals1 SA Posts: 3293
2 13 Apr 2012
It's probably not a bad idea. I took up a job at a local dairy industry for a period of time.. and I must say.. you think you know everything about the cruelty of those industries.. but until you physically work at one.. you really don't. If you take a job there you will receive first hand experience of the industry and how it works, and will have a solid cement argument against those who are skeptical of the cruelty involved. As you have wroked there yourself, seen it for yourself. However you are providing further support for the industry... but on the other hand.. if it is not you working there, there will be someone else anyway. Does this make any sense?