Animals Australia Unleashed
Change the World Who Cares? Videos Take Action! The Animals Community Forum Shop Blog Display
1 2 3
Your E-Mail: O Password:
Login Help     |     Join for Free!     |     Hide This

Post a Reply

VEGAN INGREDIENTS HELP!

Unsure of what's what in ingredients lists

1 - 10 of 11 posts   1 | 2  

JKORULESOK JKORULESOK VIC Posts: 15
1 7 Jul 2013
Hey everyone,
I'm relatively new to eating vegan and am still ironing out a few kinks in my understanding of how some animal products are hidden in ingredients lists. I'm also still learning to properly follow the concept, "when in doubt, don't buy!"

Anyways, I recently bought a box of 'Gravox Fuller Flavour Gravy', assuming that because the 'Traditional' and 'Supreme' gravies were safe for me to eat that this one would be too. I had a quick look at the ingredients list at the supermarket and couldn't see anything suspect but have now just realised (after having used the product a few times sadcry ) that there is a red section under the ingredients list that states,
"contains wheat, milk and soy products."

Would anyone PLEASE be able to let me know which ingredients in this gravy are derived from milk? I REALLY don't want to make the same mistake again and am so, so upset that I've unintentionally eaten dairy sad I'm really mad at myself for not looking at ALL the information provided and just assuming I knew what I was buying (and subsequently eating!)

Any information you could provide would be greatly appreciated, The ingredients list is as follows: WHEAT FLOUR, SALT, HYDROLYSED VEGETABLE PROTEIN, COLOUR (CARAMEL III), VEGETABLE GUM (GUAR), FLAVOUR ENHANCER (621).

Thanks heaps in advance!
ReplyQuote

*Steph* *Steph* VIC Posts: 363
2 7 Jul 2013