Animals Australia Unleashed
Change the World Who Cares? Videos Take Action! The Animals Community Forum Shop Blog Display
1 2 3
Your E-Mail: O Password:
Login Help     |     Join for Free!     |     Hide This

Post a Reply

Booja Booja Truffles

1 - 2 of 2 posts


le gabrielle le gabrielle QLD Posts: 214
1 27 Nov 2013
So today I splurged and bought a small box of Booja Booja Banoffee Toffee truffles, and after inhaling them, I was examining the box further, I noticed that it says "Less than 2.5ppm casein." Is casein not milk protein? How can they then be labelled vegan? o_o
ReplyQuote

Nadia1986 Nadia1986 NSW Posts: 101
2 28 Nov 2013
I found this on a hunt: Hopefully it helps..I am interested to know as well now.

Casein is a milk protein commonly used in processed foods. You’ll find it in many non-dairy creamers and soy cheeses. As it is derived from milk, casein is not vegan but it is vegetarian. Although many vegans do not mind a small amount of casein in their soy cheese, most avoid these products. Caseinates, such as calcium caseinate, potassium caseinate and sodium caseinate are derived from casein and as such, are also not vegan. If you are allergic to dairy, you should avoid both casein and caseinates.

http://vegetarian.about.com/od/glossary/g/Casein.htm
ReplyQuote


www.unleashed.org.au