Animals Australia Unleashed
Change the World Who Cares? Videos Take Action! The Animals Community Forum Shop Blog Display
1 2 3
Your E-Mail: O Password:
Login Help     |     Join for Free!     |     Hide This

Post a Reply

Animals Rights education in primary schools

Are you a primary teacher? Have you taught issues regarding animal treatment?

1 - 5 of 5 posts

NickM NickM NSW Posts: 71
1 31 Jul 2014
Good day to all!

I'm training to become a primary teacher and would like to hear from teachers who have taught about the treatment of animals within HSIE syllabus (particularly for stage 3).

1)   How did you link it to the syllabus?
2)   What resources did you use (and could you please direct me to them!)
3)   Please share stories you have had regarding children's responses and if you encountered any negative feedback from parents (or the community).

As a vegan, I have strong beliefs around the treatment of animals, but as a teacher I am obligated to provide students (who are often very fragile themselves) to open up and explore ALL possibilities and not have me just rant on about why we should never treat animals for our own means etc.

Have you struggled with this or are you able to separate yourself (enough) to provide balanced lessons that no so much focus on the particular issue but that focus on childen thinking CRITICALLY about everything?

Being a part of the development of critical thinkers of our next generation was one of the main reasons I decided to retrain.. and..

CRITICAL THINKERS act more rationally than people who aren't and maybe we'll have a somewhat more peaceful planet.
*wishful thinking*

Hope you're all safe and well.

Nick
ReplyQuote

justdaisy justdaisy WA Posts: 74
2 31 Jul 2014
hi nick,

matey the best thing i've ever seen by way of a teachers resource is available at ThinkKind ...

fantastic stuff, great NFP organisation staffed by professional teachers ( volunteers ).

the material is beautiful, free downloads, and much more.