Animals Australia Unleashed
Change the World Who Cares? Videos Take Action! The Animals Community Forum Shop Blog Display
1 2 3
Your E-Mail: O Password:
Login Help     |     Join for Free!     |     Hide This

Post a Reply

Doctors against vegetarian/vegan diets

1 - 10 of 56 posts   1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6  

Angelaaaaaaaaaaa Angelaaaaaaaaaaa NSW Posts: 15
1 20 Sep 2010
There seems to be such a common misconception that doctors and other health care professionals are against vegetarian/vegan diets. I find this to be utterly untrue as my doctor has always supported and encouraged vegetarian/vegan diets. I also work in the health care industry and have found that most people I've worked with have no negative opinions of vegetarian/vegan diets.
So where does this misconception come from? What have your experiences been with doctors or other health care professionals as a vegetarian/vegan?  

=]
ReplyQuote

Mondayschild Mondayschild WA Posts: 1452
2 20 Sep 2010
My doctor has been fantastic. I would almost go so far as to say pleased. I have heard peoples negative experiences but have been fortunate enough not to have had them myself.
ReplyQuote

randz randz QLD Posts: 55
3 20 Sep 2010
well when my iron level was low, doctor asked are you a vegetarian? i said vegan dude. hes like no wonder why you need red meat!
ReplyQuote

Angelaaaaaaaaaaa Angelaaaaaaaaaaa NSW Posts: 15
4 20 Sep 2010
bobbynator said:
well when my iron level was low, doctor asked are you a vegetarian? i said vegan dude. hes like no wonder why you need red meat!
Did he have a rant about the importance of eating dead animals?
ReplyQuote

karenbaby karenbaby ACT Posts: 489
5 20 Sep 2010
My iron levels are low and i told my doctor (when i was vegetarian) that i didnt eat meat and he told me i shouldent be vego because of my iron. I dont think he had a problem with being a vego/vegan i just think he didnt think I should be.
ReplyQuote

carinaforkeeps carinaforkeeps NSW Posts: 484
6 20 Sep 2010