Animals Australia Unleashed
Change the World Who Cares? Videos Take Action! The Animals Community Forum Shop Blog Display
1 2 3
Your E-Mail: O Password:
Login Help     |     Join for Free!     |     Hide This

Post a Reply

Careers in animal welfare/ rights...

1 - 9 of 9 posts

Cate. Cate. NSW Posts: 1
1 16 Mar 2011
I am currently studying architecture at uni, and I am enjoying it. But I was thinking the other day about what I am passionate about.. and they only thing I am really passionate about is animal rights/ veganism. Then I was thinking about how I wish there was a degree I could do about animal welfare...
which got me thinking what careers you could have involving animal rights and welfare. A lot of it seems to be voluntary, but Animals Australia and PETA and stuff must have people working for them who are full time and being paid (even a modest salary, I just want to make a difference!!)
I don't want to be a lawyer, or a vet... What could I do that would make a big difference for my animal friends? I am very happy to be an architect, I am planning on designing really super sustainable and eco friendly buildings... and doing animal rights stuff on the side. But I would love to dedicate my life to it if I could.
ReplyQuote

Alyssa Alyssa VIC Posts: 296
2 16 Mar 2011
I wonder about this all the time! It seems like the only career I would ever really "enjoy". Even a career with human NGOs is appealing. No idea about what skills etc you need though.
ReplyQuote

Jacqui T Jacqui T NSW Posts: 796
3 16 Mar 2011
You can do courses to become park rangers, or work at the WIRES call centre to take rescue calls (don't need to go to uni and you're helping)

Its hard with welfare because usually you have to start by volunteering to get the job and when you get that job you hold onto it for aslong as you can so nobody else gets it haha.
ReplyQuote

Alyssa Alyssa VIC Posts: 296
5 16 Mar 2011
Alyssa said: